Main Content

National Forest Woodland Management Award

Winners of the Woodland Managment Award

To celebrate the creation of over 7000 hectares of new forest and bringing over 5000 hectares of woodland into active management, the National Forest Company has developed a Woodland Management Award for 2016. Although there are a number of woodland awards promoted by other organisations, none apply exclusively in The National Forest.

The award had three categories covering key aspects of what we are doing in the Forest:

  • Award for creation of new woodlands (10 years or younger)
  • Award for woodland management (over 10 years)
  • Award for community woodland management
My National Forest Logo

Applications under each category were scored against a range of criteria such as quality of silviculture, enhancement of landscape, public access, nature conservation and contribution to woodland economy and judged by a small panel.


The awards attracted a vast array of applications across all three categories, with the winners attending a celebration event at Staunton Harold Hall in November 2016. The winners, along with a short case-study on each, are listed in the document below.